One Drive for Business
Frequently Asked Questions
- OneDrive for Business
1. What will happen to my files on OneDrive for Business once I graduate?
You will continue to have access to your files after you graduate. Your AUP NetID will stay active as long as you use your AUP account. After six months of inactivity, your AUP login will be deactivated.
When your AUP account has been deactivated, you will have 30 days to recover your data from OneDrive for Business before your files are permanently deleted.
To reactivate your account, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please note that if you have installed Office 2016 on your personal devices, the software will no longer be active when you graduate.
2. What is the difference between OneDrive and OneDrive for Business?
OneDrive is a free online personal storage that you get with either a Microsoft account or Outlook.com. You can use OneDrive to save documents, photos, and other files in the cloud, share them with friends, and even collaborate on content.
OneDrive for Business is online storage intended for business purposes. Your OneDrive for Business is managed by your organization and lets you share and collaborate on work documents with co-workers. Site collection administrators in your organization control what you can do in the library.
Note In the header or elsewhere on your SharePoint or Office 365 site, ‘OneDrive’ appears as an abbreviation of OneDrive for Business to keep things simpler.
3. Can I have both OneDrive and OneDrive for Business at the same time?
Yes you can have OneDrive and OneDrive for business at the same time.
OneDrive can be installed separately from https://onedrive.live.com/about/en-us/ and you will be asked to be logged in from your Microsoft or your outlook account if you have one.
OneDrive for Business comes with office 365 pack, once you install office 2016 on your computer you will be able to see the OneCloud for business icon in your drive list.
4. What can't I sync to OneDrive for business ?
1- Files currently open
2- Files greater than 10-gigabyte (GB)
3- OneNote notebooks
4- Mapped or Network Drive
5- Invalid characters in file or folder names: # % < > : " | ? *
6- The following strings in file names :
7- The following strings in folder names:
For more information please visit Microsoft website: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3125202
5. Can I copy files from my personal OneDrive to OneDrive for business?
Yes, in order to copy files between personal OneDrive and OneDrive for Business:
- Sync both versions of OneDrive to your local computer. See Sync OneDrive for Business or site libraries to your computer for more info.
- Open both folders on your computer, and copy or drag files from one folder to the other.
- Re-sync both folders with OneDrive.
6. What is going to happen to files on MyFiles ?
Your files and folders that are stored on Myfiles won't be affected, neither they will be moved to OneDrive for Business, however we encourage you to move them yourself.
7. How can I use OneDrive for business to collaborate with others?
Share a document by using Get a link
You can share a link to a document that others can also share by using Get a link. Get a link is available only for individual files, but it’s the easiest way to share documents with everyone in your organization or to share with people externally (as long as external sharing is enabled for your sites).
Go to OneDrive for Business or the site library that has the document you want to share.
Right-click the document you want to share, and then select Get a link. If you don't see Get a link, click Share, and then click Get a link.
Choose the type of link you want to create.Links for internal sharing:
- Edit link – account required People in your organization can edit, copy, or download the document.
- View link – account required People in your organization can view, copy, or download the document.
- Edit link – no sign-in required People outside your organization can edit, copy, and download the document.
- View link – no sign-in required People outside your organization can view, copy, and download the document.
Notes: If you see only a restricted link option instead of the options shown here, sharing links may be disabled or you may not have permission to use them. For information about how to enable sharing, see Video: Share a site without access request.
If guest access is disabled, you'll see only account required options.If you choose a no sign-in required link and you want to set the link to expire, click Set expiration, and then choose how long before the link expires, such as 30 days. Account required links don’t expire and there’s no option to set an expiration for those links.
Click Copy to copy the link to the clipboard.Paste the link into an email and send it or post it on a website for the people you want share with.
- Links created by using Get a link are not discoverable by search, so only people who receive a link from someone else can use it.
- No sign-in required links are guest links that are ideal for external sharing. These links are available by default in Office 365, but administrators can disable external sharing for your sites. For details, see Share sites or documents with people outside your organization.
- You can remove no sign-in required links at any time in the Share dialog box mentioned in the steps above. The REMOVE link is right next to the Copy button.
- Site administrators can restrict sharing so that only owners can share files and sites. For information about how to enable sharing links, see Video: Share a site without access request.
Share a document or folder by inviting people
To share folders or to share documents when Get a link isn’t available, you can invite people.
Go to OneDrive for Business or the site library that has the document or folder you want to share.
Right-click the file you want to share, and then select Share.
In the Share dialog box on the Invite people tab, type names or email addresses of people you want to share the document or folder with.
Select a permission setting, such as Can edit
If you want, type a message to be included with an email that’s sent to all invitees. The email includes a link to the shared document.If you don't want to send an email, uncheck Send an email invitation (you may need to click Show Options first).Click Share.
8. What about my AUP files?
All of your AUP files will continue to be available in your MyFiles area. Going forward, as you become more familiar with using Office 365 and its OneDrive component, you can migrate your files and folders to OneDrive, which will enable you to manage directly the organization and sharing of your information.